Accessibility Tools

Love Yarmouth

Site Map     Contact Us  

Press Releases

Mayor Pam Mood becomes NSFM President

For Release Thursday, Nov. 7 -  Nova Scotia Federation of Municipalities (NSFM) has a new president.

Yarmouth Mayor Pam Mood was elected by members in an uncontested race during NSFM’s annual conference and AGM at the Westin Halifax Hotel. Mood, a municipal politician since 2012, was vice president of NSFM’s board last year.

75614029 2685005621726567 2047768118138241024 nShe credited outgoing President Waye Mason, a Halifax councillor, for being the strong driving force behind several initiatives at NSFM.

“I can promise that the forward movement is not going to slow down at all,” she told hundreds of members during her standing-ovation speech. “I’m committed to pushing forward and working with the government.”

Mood paid tribute to her grandfather, Fred Emin, for leading by example and encouraging her to get involved in municipal politics. Emin was mayor of the Town of Yarmouth for almost a quarter century and was president of the Union of Nova Scotia Municipalities, the precursor to NSFM, in 1971-72.

NSFM represents the provincial interests of all 50 municipalities in the province and the 379 mayors, wardens and councilors who govern them.

On Wednesday during the conference, Municipal Affairs and Housing Minister Chuck Porter announced the government’s support for an all-party committee to review the property assessment CAP. An all-party committee recognizes what NSFM has been saying for years, that a solution to the CAP is needed now, says NSFM CEO Juanita Spencer.

NSFM’s strong board, made up of regional representation from across Nova Scotia, played a role in keeping municipal issues front and centre, Spencer said. “And I know it’s going to be another transformational year under Mayor Pam Mood’s leadership and the momentum we have going will continue.”

Emily Lutz, the deputy mayor of Kings County, was elected vice president of NSFM. In addition to Mood (president), Lutz (vice president) and Mason (past president), other members of the board elected at the conference include:

Regional Caucus Chair: Councillor Clarence Prince, CBRM
Rural Caucus Chair: Deputy Mayor Geoff Stewart, County of Colchester
Towns Caucus Chair: Mayor Brenda Chishom-Beaton, Town of Port Hawkesbury
Regional Rep: Councillor Russell Walker, HRM
Regional Rep: Councillor George MacDonald, CBRM
Rural Rep: Warden Jim Smith, District of East Hants
Rural Rep: Councillor Patti Durkee, District of Yarmouth
Towns Rep: Mayor Jeff Cantwell, Town of Wolfville
Towns Rep: Deputy Mayor Lennie White, Town of Westville
AMA Rep: Alain Muise, CAO District of Argyle

About the NSFM

NSFM logoThe Nova Scotia Federation of Municipalities (NSFM) has been the collective voice for municipal governments across the province since 1906. With 379 members comprised of Mayors, Wardens and councillors, NSFM represents the interests of municipalities on policy and program matters that fall within provincial jurisdiction. Members include all 50 of Nova Scotia's municipalities. Learn more by visiting their website:

For more information, contact:

Amy Pugsley Fraser | Communications Advisor

c +1.902.483.1194
t +1.902.423.8331

Town of Yarmouth

 This is an exciting time for the Town of Yarmouth. By working together, we can meet today’s challenges and build a better future.”

Pam Mood


Town of Yarmouth
400 Main Street
Yarmouth, B5A 1G2

  (902) 742-2521
  (902) 742-6244

Follow & Share